Posted by: tucsonjefe | April 1, 2011

Remembering a Friend

Friday, April 1, 2011

Building People of Substance for Works of Power

Praying friendship for you, me and tobie.

April 1st was a Monday in 1991. I remember because 20 years ago today my good friend, Larry Dunning died in a car crash a few miles from our home in upstate New York. Larry was very important to Judy and I. He performed our wedding. He invited me to preach in an actual church service. He gave me my first real live job in the ministry. I guess most importantly he made an impartation into my life that has never gone away. You see, I was a sinner before I was saved. Not just as a hobby, but as a fulltime occupation. Even after I went to bible school, I didn’t have much “polish” when it came to church stuff. I had never even been a church member, much less a Pastor. In spite of my ecclesiastical ignorance, Larry gave me his pulpit. He asked my opinion on stuff about which I had no clue, then nodded as if my replies made sense. He gave me the gift of believing in me.

When I picture Larry, I see him on the platform at that old church in Oklahoma City. He has both hands in the air so high his shirttail is pulling out of his waistband. He has his eyes turned toward heaven. He is just shouting “Glory!” He never worshipped just a little bit. He always gave it everything he had. He was acutely aware that Jesus gave it all for him. Larry was a decent preacher, and a good friend. But he was a great worshipper. In particular, I remember one chorus he liked to use to close the service:

I WILL ARISE AND GO FORTH, IN THE NAME OF THE LORD OF HOSTS
FOR HE HAS CONQUERED EVERY FOE BY HIS NAME, BY HIS NAME
I WILL DECLARE HE IS THE LORD I WILL TRUST AND NOT BE AFRAID
I WILL ARISE AND GO FORTH BY HIS NAME

Scripture Reading: For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek. Romans 1:16

Somebody Said: God puts people in your life to assist in bringing His future for you to pass. It is said, “When God wants to birth a future, He births a relationship. When the devil wants to destroy a future, he births a relationship too.” Question, “Who is speaking into your life?” The answer is, whoever you have authorized to speak into your life. Recognize the godly leaders that have been placed in your life and follow their example. Lonnie Hilton

I thank the Lord for sending someone who believed in me and who showed me how not to be ashamed of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. May you be blessed with such a friend.

vls
www.fcftucson.org

Responses

  1. Thank you for honoring your friend Larry and being someone who believed in me and who showed me how not to be ashamed of the Gospel of Christ. I am blessed to have you as a pastor, mentor, and friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

