Posted by: tucsonjefe | March 24, 2011

We Need Each Other

A few weeks ago I was agonized as I watched my dear wife struggling to lift a 3 gallon jug of water in our kitchen.  For years we have had a water dispenser which I kept supplied.  I normally went to the water store and filled several 5 gallon jugs and hauled them home. Now, thanks to a back injury, I couldn’t do my job.  It was left to Judy to carry the weight.  I could only watch as she struggled, and pray she didn’t hurt herself. That was only one incident among many in a very difficult period for me.  At church the staff all ran ahead to open doors.  An 11-year-old boy met me at the car to carry my guitar.  My wife did all the driving since I couldn’t feel my foot.  I found it very difficult to allow others to serve me in these ways, but because of their willingness to help, the ministry continued and I recovered at an astonishing pace. It was a learning experience in many ways.

God has designed the Church in such a way that we all need each other in order to accomplish His ends. You can’t do it alone. Every person in the church has a purpose in being planted there.  Some don’t seem important until they are not there.  You don’t miss your water ‘til the well runs dry.  The truth is, every part of the body is important.  As a Pastor, I take my calling very seriously.  I prepare and pray and organize my life so as to be of maximum effectiveness.  But my calling is not any more important than the sound tech, or the usher, or the kid’s club leader, or the building cleaner.  I may be more visible, but I am not more important.  When any part of the body is out of place or broken down, another must take up the slack.  Unfortunately, just like Judy trying to lift the water jug, it is a real strain to do someone else’s job. The job gets done, but usually less well, and the weight of it may cause other problems. Your calling is as important as any other.  Please take it seriously.

Scripture Reading: In this way we are like the various parts of a human body. Each part gets its meaning from the body as a whole, not the other way around. The body we’re talking about is Christ’s body of chosen people. Each of us finds our meaning and function as a part of his body. But as a chopped-off finger or cut-off toe we wouldn’t amount to much, would we? So since we find ourselves fashioned into all these excellently formed and marvelously functioning parts in Christ’s body, let’s just go ahead and be what we were made to be, without enviously or pridefully comparing ourselves with each other, or trying to be something we aren’t. If you preach, just preach God’s Message, nothing else; Romans 12:4-6a MSG

Somebody Said: Individual commitment to a group effort – that is what makes a team work, a company work, a society work, a civilization work.     Vince Lombardi

I believe it is God’s design that we should need each other.  It prevents pride.  It makes every life valuable.  It insures that the glory goes to the One who gives the grace.  I thank God that I need you.

vls

Responses

  1. This is a thought provoking piece. I can in some ways understand first hand what you are saying in your personal example. I will add the this ongoing period of my own inability to do what I view as “carry my weight” in the way I had has also been a period of huge spiritual growth. I don’t even want to say how long it took me to realize how blessed this period of “not nearly enough” has truly been.


Leave a Reply

Categories

