Posted by: tucsonjefe | January 20, 2011

A Man Has to Do Something

Don Roberto Teaching the Business

I arrived in Mexico City tired and with a very sore back, but as always I was happy to get there.  Our old friend Pastor Roberto Milian met me at the airport with his son-in-law to drive us.  Don Roberto was thin. He has been battling diabetes and some sort of infection. Nonetheless, he insisted on carrying my bags. I get concerned for him, as he will be 69 in March; a pretty ripe old age for a man from his culture and era. At the house he began to tell me about the work he and our other IEM students have been doing.  There are now 4 FCF churches in the barrios of Mexico City.  There is one in Puebla, 2 in Guerrero, and 2 more in Sonora. As we talked I heard some odd noises from upstairs.  He told me his son-in-law had been unemployed for a good while, so Don Roberto offered to help him start a business.  They are now employing 2 other men.  They take scrap metal, melt it with blow torches in a big kettle, then skim off the usable metal.  They pour the molten material in a mold, then buff it and thread it to make elbow joints for gas stove burners.  I asked Don Roberto why he went to such trouble to help these young men get started. His reply: “A man has to do something,”

That statement hit me in my heart.  Faced with a lack of employment, do something.  Faced with a city bound in all manner of evil, do something. Even if you are elderly, diabetic, and living in one of the world’s less attractive barrios, a man has to do something.  The world around us is filled with all manner of pain, lack, and injustice. I have trouble not being overwhelmed and discouraged.  It looks bleak.  My temptation is to curl up in the corner, lick my wounds, and hope for the end.  Worse yet, many choose to simply pretend everything is OK.  They put on their blinders and go about their business. For me, as a Christian, I simply cannot ignore the signs of the times and the condition of mankind.  I have to do something.  If all I can do is share the love of God with someone on the bus, or give to help the hungry, or work in my church to help in the vision, or pray for a ministry that is touching lives, I must do something.  A man has to do something!

 Scripture Reading:  She did what she could when she could–she pre-anointed my body for burial.  (Mark 14:8 MSG)

 Somebody Said: Your big opportunity may be right where you are now.  Napoleon Hill

 There are so many things to do that I sometimes don’t know where to begin.  I think it best to just keep doing what we can to impart this precious message to those God puts in front of us. Then they can pass it on to others.  That will keep us busy, and it seems to be working. I appreciate everyone who helps us in doing it. May God open your eyes to see the opportunities in front of you.  A man has to do something!

Leave a Reply

Categories

