Posted by: tucsonjefe | December 17, 2010

Don’t let your faithfulness evaporate

Looking out the window this morning I see heavy fog.  I must be dreaming!  This is Arizona.  Fog requires moisture, and we are always short on that.  After rubbing my eyes, I decided that the fog is real.  Wow!  One great thing about it is that it won’t last long.  The sun will come up shortly and the mist will fade rapidly.  It is Arizona, after all.  I couldn’t help thinking of that verse in Hosea where he was talking to Ephraim and Judah about their proclamations of repentance when God corrected them for their idolatry.  They made great promises when the pressure was on, but God was not impressed.  He had seen their track record: “For your faithfulness is like a morning cloud, And like the early dew it goes away.”  I wonder how often He says that same thing about me?

All of us have been there.  We find ourselves in a tough time and we call upon the Lord.  We purpose to change the way we do things: pray more, be sweeter, read our bible, lose some weight, or whatever.  Then as time goes by, our resolve weakens as our pain decreases.  Or maybe we are in a service where the Spirit of God speaks to us about some aspect of service or act of giving.  We are convicted and compelled.  Then we get in the car and leave our conviction fading at the altar, a dim glimmer in the rearview mirror.  It’s not that we decide to be disobedient, or that we want to displease God, it’s just that the sun comes up and the heat burns away our faithfulness.  It just sort of disappears.  This Christmas and New Year, join me in taking a little stroll down memory lane.  Review your year on your knees, looking in your memory banks for the vows and commitments you have let slip away.  Ask the Lord to forgive you for your unfaithfulness. Ask Him to allow you to fulfill what He asked you to do.  Every day until New Years Day make a fresh commitment and ask for His grace to get it done.  Make it a habit.  As the new year begins, join me as we celebrate the Lord’s Table and renew our commitments to Him and His callings, remembering His commitment to us in the bread and in the cup.

Scripture Reading:     I praise God for what He has promised; Yes, I praise the LORD for what He has promised. I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? What can mere mortals do to me? I will fulfill my vows to You, O God, and will offer a sacrifice of thanks for Your help. For You have rescued me from death; You have kept my feet from slipping. So now I can walk in Your presence, O God, in Your life-giving light.  (Psalms 56:10-13 NLT)

Somebody Said    A person with half volition goes backwards and forwards, but makes no progress on even the smoothest of roads. –Thomas Carlyle

We will move forward together to become what God has always intended and do what He has always purposed.  When the heat comes, the committed don’t evaporate.  Commitment starts on your knees.  Let’s go there now.

vls
http://www.fcftucson.org

Leave a Reply

Categories

