Posted by: tucsonjefe | December 3, 2010

Boasting for who?

I don’t normally share my daily devotions with the world, but today’s moment really hit me. In Romans 4, Paul is making the case that Abraham was justified by faith before he was circumcised. In verse 2 he says, “For if Abraham was justified by works, he has something to boast about, but not before God.” The notion of religious works is all for the benefit of someone besides God. This begs the question, “Who am I trying to impress?” When the self-congratulatory voice on the inside tells me how great or how awful I am, it is not before God. When the little judge in my head tells me how awful someone else is in comparison to me, it is not before God. My “not guilty” in the court of Heaven comes from the same source as yours: the redemption that is in Christ Jesus. Every other verdict is for the benefit of somone other than God.  Grace to you!

Leave a Reply

Categories

