Posted by: tucsonjefe | November 19, 2010

Back to the Prime Directive

“That sounds like Acts 15.”  Who would have thought that such a sentence could bring joy to a man’s heart?  But that is exactly how I felt when I read the note from one of my church members and bible school students.  She had received a letter recommending a book on keeping the Torah.  The author espoused the belief that the Christian was obligated to observe the Law.   Her comment reflected a teaching I did on the council at Jerusalem in Acts 15 where James reached his historic conclusion recognizing Gentile conversions.  I was thrilled that someone was paying enough attention to recognize Judaizing when they saw it.  Our calling is to do more than make converts; it is to make disciples.  When the Lord spoke to me in 1995 to “Build People of Substance for Works of Power,” I knew exactly what He meant.  Our passion is to build such a solid foundation in folks that they will serve the Lord long after we are gone.  They will recognize deception, fight through adversity, and live a life dedicated to the glory of God and the service of others. 

It is my honest desire that our commission color our every action.  It is so easy to get sidetracked. We are human and we love to be thought well of.  It is the most natural thing in the world to become consumed with adding members to the church.  The question has to be, have we added anything to the members.  It is a grand thing to have fetching music and high production value programs.  The measure of success is not the production but the product.  The necessity for modernity and relevance in our preaching is obvious, but I can never let relevance become relativism. As much as anyone, I love to have folks rave about the service, the sermon, the songs, and the scenery.  Still, I think the Lord is more impressed with servanthood, sound doctrine, genuine worship, and hardships bravely borne.  That would constitute substance. Thank God, just in the moments when I wonder if there is any real impact, someone sends me a little snippet that lets me know someone is listening.  Yes, it does sound like Acts 15!

 Scripture Reading:  Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers. For I rejoiced greatly when brethren came and testified of the truth that is in you, just as you walk in the truth. I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.  3 John 1:2-4 NKJV

 Somebody said: If you look for truth, you may find comfort in the end; if you look for comfort you will not get either comfort or truth only soft soap and wishful thinking to begin, and in the end, despair.    C. S. Lewis

 When we get to the end of the road, all that will matter is what deposit we made in the eternity of others.  Lord, let it be the real thing.vls
www.fcftucson.org

If you want to hear the Acts 15 teaching, click here

Leave a Reply

Categories

