Posted by: tucsonjefe | December 17, 2009

God is Not Hiring Hit Men

It took me a few days to get my emotions under control to write this one.  You would think that I would be over it after so many years in the ministry, but it just gets worse.  I get riled up when other folks talk ugly about my Dad.  It especially bothers me when it’s other kids in the family! After the recent murders of four police officers in Washington state, a friend sent me a piece of a message by a preacher who specializes in ministry to cops.  His basic “comfort” to the families of the slain and their compatriots in blue was this:  God is using this to get some greater good and glory. He orchestrated it through the devil, and we will only know how wonderful it is when we get to heaven.  He didn’t presume to understand God’s purpose in murdering people like this, but we must submit to His wisdom and love in doing so.  That would be almost funny if it weren’t so sad.

I will make this statement one more time.  I know it infuriates the religionists and causes them to think I am not saved.  Well, I am, so get over it. My response to that kind of “que será, será” poppycock is this:  If that is how God operates, then I would rather serve the devil.  At least then I will know who the enemy is.  God is not killing police officers for His greater glory.  God is working to redeem, to save, and to heal all the time.  We live in a very fallen world where evil exists.  God, in His wisdom and mercy, calls men and women into law enforcement for the purpose of maintaining order and protecting the weak and innocent.  It is a holy calling.  Those who stand on the frontlines of the battle to protect society need to know that God is not ordering their assassination. I appreciate them.  God appreciates them.  May God protect them in their calling, and may we, the Church, redouble our prayers for those whom God has set in authority.

Scripture Reading:   What sorrow for those who say that evil is good and good is evil, that dark is light and light is dark, that bitter is sweet and sweet is bitter.  Isaiah 5:20 NLT

 Somebody Said: In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock.       — Thomas Jefferson

 I will maintain that God is good.  It is non-negotiable.  I have met Him.  He is a friend of mine. That goes beyond principle into the realm of loyalty. Let the theologians prattle.  God will chuckle and go on being good.  We will shrug and go on proclaiming His goodness.

 vls
http://www.fcftucson.org

Leave a Reply

Categories

