Posted by: tucsonjefe | March 20, 2009

Consecration overcomes reservation

I had a great run this morning.  It got better at about 2.1 miles.  2 miles is where I have to decide whether to turn toward home for the short course or go on for a longer run.  Once you pass that 2 mile turn, there is no short cut.  It’s 2.5 more miles.  Every time I run that way, I notice that my mind starts telling me I am tired at about 1.5 miles.  Then it tells me I am late and don’t have time.  Then it says to me the dog is too tired to go long.  The truth is that once I make the decision and pass the turn, once a commitment has been made, I suddenly feel better.  My step gets stronger and there is an exhilaration that carries me  all the way home.  Sometimes I even add another mile.  Commitment means that quitting is not an alternative.  Every worthy endeavor requires that we reach a point of no return, a consecration to the project that frees the mind from reservation.  Consecration overcomes reservation. Get committed.

vls

Leave a Reply

Categories

