Posted by: tucsonjefe | March 11, 2009

Bull in China Shop Day

I had one of those days yesterday where I made the bull in the China shop look gracious and elegant.  I sent out the post prior to this one as an email note to my mailing list.  I got hammered for being a snooty lone ranger who doesn’t support the rest of the Church.  That may be a sign that I did not communicate clearly, because that is not true.  But then I got another reply thanking me for helping the individual get free!  Then last night in service I preached again on the Holy Ghost.  Now as you may know, I am pretty opinionated on that subject.  I had one guy get up and leave, and another person say they were offended by my attitude.  but then there was the young man who got filled and spoke with tongues.  He left thanking me for the message and the blessing it brought to his young life  It seems to me that the messages that are the most effective are also the most offensive.   I never try to be offensive.  On the other hand I do want to be assured that folks get the point, and sometimes the point is sharp.  Sharp points are necessary to prod sleeping mules and lance festering boils.  Both need doing. Winston Churchill said “The reserve of modern assertions is sometimes pushed to extremes, in which the fear of being contradicted leads the writer to strip himself of almost all sense and meaning.” Maybe I will do better today. I hope so. I’m really so cuddly.

vls

Leave a Reply

Categories

