Posted by: tucsonjefe | July 8, 2006

Power in words

Its been a long time since I heard anyone call us the “Name it and Claim It” cult.  That was quite a popular term of derision a few years back.  Of course some of our fellows did do some things and preach some things that made it easy to make fun of us.  The idea that our spoken words would bring things to pass gave some folks a license to act very goofy.  It was called “positive confession.”  I say it and it will happen.  In the name of faith, people wrote checks they couldn’t cover and ignored diseases that ravaged their bodies, all the while maintaining that “God supplies” and “I am healed.”   In our zeal, most of us made a few faith messes.  It got so bad that it was tempting to just forget it and pretend we didn’t know any of those folks.  As with most excesses and flakiness, there was a truth in there somewhere.  Thank God for that truth! 

One of our defining distinctives has always been a confidence in the power of the spoken word.  The words that come out of my mouth are important.  They can bring healing or destruction to others.  They are a mark of faith when they reflect what I believe.  After the example of Abraham, the father of our faith, I can “call those things that are not as though they are.”  That doesn’t mean I deny the existence of a problem or pretend something that isn’t so.  It reflects my confidence that what God has said about the subject will always prevail over everything else.  My words create an atmosphere around me.  Faith-filled words fill my life with hope and joy and anticipation and victory.  Fear-driven words send me careening toward destruction.  If God said it, I can lay claim to it as mine, though the circumstances seem hopeless for the moment.  When the confession of my mouth reflects the faith in my heart, good things happen.  Thank God I can disagree with the report of the newspaper, the naysayer, and the prophets of doom.  I choose to agree with God.  I see it, I say it, I come to believe it, it happens.

Scripture Reading:             The following is written, “I believed; therefore, I spoke.” We have that same spirit of faith. We also believe; therefore, we also speak. 2Co 4:13 God’s Word 

Somebody Said:    “Man does not live by words alone, despite the fact that sometimes he has to eat them.”  — Adlai E. Stevenson Jr., quoted by Human Behavior, May 1978

I suppose we will continue to catch flak over the whole confession thing, but given the only two choices of agreeing with the devil or agreeing with God, it’s a no-brainer.

vls

Leave a Reply

Categories

