Posted by: tucsonjefe | June 21, 2006

Back from Conference

We spent last week at Faith Christian Fellowship Family Conference in Tulsa. Each time we go to conference, I make some attempt to relay to you what the Lord seemed to be saying to us in that setting.  The first theme seemed to be a reminder to hang on to the great things that brought us together in the first place.  For us, that is always the message of faith and the reality of the Holy Spirit.  We continually thank God for the heritage we have.  My wife said something to me today that really hit me hard, “God doesn’t just want you to know about the abundant life, He wants you to live it.”  As years go by and times change, we have to remember that our heritage is alive.  We don’t just believe in faith, we live by faith.  Our experience of the Spirit is designed to be a living reflection of our doctrine.  If you watch me long enough you should be able to infer what I believe from how I live. The second major thing I came away with was the necessity to translate our lifestyle into modern English.  That is, we can’t afford to become a little island of “faith-folk” who get together to celebrate our great faith and prophesy over each other.  Much of what we do grew out of a movement that came to the forefront 30 years ago.  We have to invade the future with the Word and the Spirit, not our traditions and worn-out methods.  I believe that one of the reasons many so-called Word of Faith churches are struggling is they have failed to do this.  They are determined to replicate the practices of the 80’s and they are a mystery to the heathen, post-Christian, politically correct, world in which we find ourselves.  I heard one phrase that rang out to me: “We must think about how we do church, but more than that we must realize that we are church.”  As we go forward, I will continue to write to you about the essentials of who we are – the things that are non-negotiable – so we can separate the content from the packaging, and be willing to overhaul the delivery system but never the goods.  We’ve got the goods. 

Scripture Reading:             Even though I am free of the demands and expectations of everyone, I have voluntarily become a servant to any and all in order to reach a wide range of people: religious, nonreligious, meticulous moralists, loose-living immoralists, the defeated, the demoralized–whoever. I didn't take on their way of life. I kept my bearings in Christ–but I entered their world and tried to experience things from their point of view. I've become just about every sort of servant there is in my attempts to lead those I meet into a God-saved life. I did all this because of the Message. I didn't just want to talk about it; I wanted to be in on it!  (1Co 9:19-23 MSG) 

Somebody Said:             There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.            — Steven Wright 

We know exactly what to do, but we are still open to new ways to do it.  What a treasure we have been given!  Sharing it is our obsession.

vls

Responses

  1. I have made the mistake of throwing the baby out with the bathwater when I heard the term “seeker sensitive” but the scripture in the Message Bible really hit home with the message we heard. I do need to go into the world and find out what they are about in order to minister to them but I don’t have to become like them to reach them. It has certainly made me rethink just how REAL the gospel is and our job is to present a REAL gospel that will work anywhere anytime because we serve a REAL God.

  2. This is so true. The people we are called to reach, don’t just show up on our door. We go to church to be strengthend and equipped to fulfill our calls. The harvest is plentiful, the fields are white for harvest, but the harvest isn’t going to walk into the storehouse by itself. I do this not by changing who I am to sound religious or spiritual, but by letting the love of Christ and the Power of the Spirit shine thru me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

